Honoring, Yet Defying Genre Standards

I don’t just write horror, I am an unapologetic and rabid fan of the genre! From Stephen King to Dario Argento, from Linnea Quigley to Jamie Lee Curtis, and from Dr. Orloff to Freddy Krueger I have a burning affinity for it all, a love which I am told is often very evident in my writing. I know the genre inside and out, a scholar of sorts as familiar with the psychological archetypes that make up the horror pantheon as I am the writers and directors creating them, the characters representing them, and the actors portraying them. I love everything about horror, frankly I always have, and I love being a genre writer.

Everyone knows the dominate three archetypes of the genre, the virgin, the doomsayer, and the fiend. I get a thrill from honoring yet defying these genre standards.

In Cradle you’ll find my deeply flawed, but no less heroic, protagonist from Angels, Kincaid, in a supportive role. He’s best friends with the new male lead, Radley, and becomes the genre’s archetype of the “doomsayer” as presented by me, of course. He’s not old, eccentrically weird, or unkempt in some way… homeless, impecunious, or crazy. Yet one might argue he fits those descriptions in charmingly idiosyncratic ways.

Just as in Angels, Kincaid represented the “virgin” and yet was actually the antithesis of that stereotype—not female and not actually virginal, Radley is the defiant protagonist in Cradle, again not female and not virginal. His journey into the darkness is ushered in the wake of Kincaid’s dire warnings which Radley has failed to heed. If only he’d listened to the forewarning, chose to follow his friend’s advise and not ventured to that damnable small town or taken up residence in the cursed abode known as Habersham House… if only. If. Only.

The horror he encounters, that monster that goes bump in the night in the shadowed rooms of Habersham House, stalking his prey, once again defies the archetype of the genre’s “bad guy” while representing it perfectly. The demonic presence preys on innocence, even warping it in a disquieting conclusion that disobeys our often far-too coveted modern horror statutes. Sweet and twisted the journey. Put your thumbs out and hitch a ride with Radley to the deepest, darkest vales of Crepuscule’s Cradle and spend the night at Habersham House!

I like to distort the classic prototypes and make them my own, both preserving the traditional horror pantheon and skewing it in my favor. In Cradle, I’ve done just that.

Leave a Reply

